Disability Studies in Nederland was founded in 2009 as a cooperative initiative of the Netherlands Organisation for Health Research and Development (ZonMW), the Handicap + Studie foundation and the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO), in partnership with the Rehabilitation Fund.

DSiN has been an independent foundation since 2012. 

Since 1 july 2015 DSiN has been an official partner organization of the Academy of the International Association for the Scientific Study of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (IASSIDD).

DSiN welcomes new (financial) partners.

Organisational structure

The DSiN foundation has a supervisory board, a core team of staff members and several project members. Director / board member is dr. Alice Schippers.

Board members:

Chair: prof. dr. J.J.L. (Jac) van der Klink
Treasurer: Mr. S.J. (Sjoerd) Vegter

Former board members

Prof. dr. Jenny Goldschmidt (until 2018)
Mr. Anton Westerlaken (chair until 2013). 
Drs. Theo Hooghiemstra (board member until 2014)